Simon Le Bon of Duran Duran seems to have superb taste in science fiction

http://io9.com/5829394/china-mievilles-embassytown-makes-the-duran-duran-book…

Of the three novels mentioned,

1. I just read Embassytown and loved it.

2. I recently tried reading Quantum Thief with every expectation of
having my socks knocked off. They remained on, but I’m circling in for
another try.

3. I think the author means Transition, not Transmission, but in any
case, I have read a number of Banks’s books with great pleasure. For
example, The Player of Games is one of my favorite books, full stop.

Summary: Simon Le Bon is apparently not a lightweight. He is reading
hardcore conceptual SF with a lefty spin. The only thing that would
impress me more is if he had just finished Greg Egan’s latest novel,
The Clockwork Rocket.

By the way, the article doesn’t link to Le Bon’s blog or wherever this
information is supposedly coming from, which makes me slightly suspect
it’s a joke. Can anyone track this down or otherwise confirm?

(edit)

OK, I found Le Bon’s original post. Google was just swamped with mirrors of the io9 post. Enjoy!

http://duranduranboard.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=aboutduranduran&acti…

 

One thought on “Simon Le Bon of Duran Duran seems to have superb taste in science fiction

Leave a Reply

