Ron’s projects in 2012: a new book, the 28-Hour Day, and the Bible…

First of all, a happy and successful New Year to all my friends, and a
confounding one to my enemies. I don’t know any enemies personally, so
I’m mainly referring to those guilty of crimes against humanity, to
whom of course I wish failure in every endeavor until they wise up.

I published my second book in 2011 with my wife Marty
( http://ur1.ca/5h1pp ) and did some other stuff, such as reading 63
books ( http://ur1.ca/78gea ). In 2012 I plan to do the following
things:

1. Submit another book proposal to a publisher or if need be,
publishers. I can’t say much about it right now, but it’s been in the
planning and development stages for months. If a publisher buys the
book, then writing will begin shortly thereafter and last about a
year.

2. Write a 50,000-word novel in April. I missed National Novel-Writing
Month in November 2011 because of work obligations, and quite
unnecessarily. It’s not too late for NaNoWriMo on a smaller scale in
April 2012 ( http://ur1.ca/78geq ). Won’t you join me and my friends? It
doesn’t have to be the Boston Marathon to be a marathon.

3. Read at least 52 books. I try to read at least a book a week. Last
year I read 11 more than that. In 2011, I plan for at least half my
books to come from my reading plan, or, if you like, bucket list,
which currently contains 173 books ( http://ur1.ca/3eldp ) and tends to
hover around that number as I add new books that interest me and
delete ones I’ve read.

4. Read the King James Bible. I love big books and I cannot lie. The
language of the KJV is gorgeous. I’ve read some reputedly impossible
monsters such as Finnegans Wake. Why not the Bible, which it’s falsely
said atheists like me never read and don’t understand? Actually, I’ve
already read a fair chunk of the Bible and was recently able to school
my Christian cousin, who claimed that Jesus never mentions Hell
himself, by getting her to google the phrase “generation of vipers” on
her Blackberry.

At 1,189 chapters in the King James version ( http://ur1.ca/78gj7 ), not
counting the Apocrypha, if I read an easy three chapters a day, and
add a fourth chapter every fourth day, I should be able to get
through the whole thing in the 366 days of 2012. I’m up to Genesis 10
now and God has already destroyed the world once.

My best friends in this quest are the Skeptic’s Annotated Bible
website ( http://ur1.ca/78gkp ) and Asimov’s Guide to the Bible
( http://ur1.ca/78gnf ). I note that if all goes according to plan, I’ll
be finishing the Book of Revelation around 21 December 2012, which
should be good for some sick laughs, if my
hexakosioihexekontahexaphobia doesn’t kick in ( http://ur1.ca/5lcc7 ).

In 2013 I plan to read either the Qur’an, the Book of Mormon, or The
Good Book ( http://ur1.ca/78gql — as a palate cleanser).

5. Release and maintain OffBeat, an offbeat, multicultural clock and
calendar program. This is an updated Linux port of a calendrical
program I wrote for the Macintosh in 1999 ( http://ur1.ca/78gs8 ). It
was originally named Many Moons, but on reflection it seems this name
might be offensive. OffBeat was written in RealBasic
( http://ur1.ca/78gtn ), a Macintosh semi-clone of Visual Basic. It has
now been ported to Gambas ( http://ur1.ca/6nmw1 ), a Linux rapid
application development system that is also very similar to VB. After
about a month of searching my data archives, I was finally able to
locate the RealBasic source code and import virtually all of the
original code into Gambas with scant changes.

The Linux port now has most of the functionality of the Mac version
and then some. Calendars supported include civil (Gregorian), Baha’i,
Discordian, Illuminati, Tolkien calendars (Elvish and Hobbit), and the
World Calendar. Clocks (which are updated and displayed in real time)
include civil time, fractional days (local and universal), hexadecimal
time (ditto), New Earth Time, Stardates (the Andrew Main version, also
used by Google Calendar), RDates (my personal way of abbreviating the
civil date), Sharp Date Codes, Swatch Internet Time, Julian days,
Modified Julian Days, Truncated Julian Days, and the 28-Hour Day,
which shows you what day and time it is in the alternate universe
where the world runs on six 28-hour days per week instead of seven
24-hour ones — as well as what you would be doing at that hour
(morning ablutions and commute, working, free time, or sleeping).

I expect to release OffBeat 1.2 (continuing version numbers from the
Mac) after fixing a few more bugs. It will be available under the GNU
Affero GPL 3 for a variety of different Linux distributions, as well
as (full circle) the Mac, when there is a formal release of Gambas for
Macintosh. Naturally, I’d like to release it for Windows, but Gambas
support for Windows is shaky at the moment.

Those are the main things I’m interested in right now. Others will
appear, no doubt. If you’re interested in hearing more about my
projects or would like to help support them, please comment on this
post or email me directly at rwhe@ludism.org .

One thought on “Ron’s projects in 2012: a new book, the 28-Hour Day, and the Bible…

  1. I have never contemplated writing a novel but the idea of dedicatingone month to the task of writing 50,000 words is very tantalising. CanI join your group if I decide to make the commitment?Reading 52 books in 2012 is also my goal. I made a list of books toread in my Goodreads account but I am sure I will be tempted to readother books which aren’t on this list.I started reading the KJV version last week but beginning inMatthew. I was reading an old hard covered book but considering howmany notes I was making of interesting notes and phrases, I think Iwill start again using the Kindle so I can make annotations and notes.Have you read David Crystal’s book about the language of the KJV:"Begat The Kind James Bibl and The English Langauge"http://www.amazon.co.uk/Begat-James-Bible-English-Language/dp/0199585857There was a recent National Geograpic magazine with stories about theKJV version.Your calendar app sounds interesting. Do you have any screen shots?

    Like

Leave a Reply

